Twelve Gates To Get In The Palace Or Twelve Royal Doors To Pass

There are up to 12 gates in the great palace wall that surrounds the royal city of the country during the reign of ancient Burmese kings.

In saying twelve doors, there are three doors on each side. There are three gates on the other side, and the large central gate is surrounded by two gates on the left and right sides.

The Four Main Gates For Royal Families

U Tung Gate : The big door in the middle of the east is the “U Tung” door, and on top of that big door is a large wooden trunk with a diameter of 2.5 to 3 feet and a length of up to 5 feet.

Kyaw Moe Gate : The “Kyaw Moe” gate in the middle of the south also has a big barrel made of wood.

Si Shal Gate : In the western “Si Shal” gate, there is a big barrel made of wood.

Lay Thein Gate : In the north “Lay Thein” gate, there is a big barrel made of bamboo.

The roofs of the four big gates are made of 7 layers of common material. The four big gates are only for the king, prince, queens, princesses and it opens at four in the morning (6:00 AM in Myanmar time) and closes at four in the evening (6:00 PM in Myanmar time).

The big drums hanging on the big gates are played regularly day and night along with the sound of the central drum in the palace. In addition, it is still played when the king leaves the palace.

Eight Meit Gates For Non-royalty People

  • Lonkae Gate
  • Thaungyut Gate
  • Kyun Long Yu Gate
  • Yan Nae/Yan Nin Gate
  • Kyae Mong Gate
  • Htin Shar Gate
  • Sithar Gate
  • Mann Oo Gate

The 8 gates on the left and right sides of the four big gates are called Meit gates, and there are two Meit gates on each side of the city wall.

The gate in the north side of the center of the east is the gate of “Lonkae”
and the gate in the south of the other side is the gate of “Thaungyut”.

Next to ‘Kyaw Moe’ gate in the south, the Meit gate in the east is the “Kyun Long Yu” gate, and the Meit gate in the west is the “Yan Nae/Yan Nin” gate.

The door on the south side of the long-barreled gate in the west is the “Kyae Mong” door, and the door on the north side is the “Htin Shar” door.

The gate adjacent to the west side of the north ‘Ley Thein Daek’ gate is the “Sithar” gate, and the gate adjacent to the east is the “Mann Oo” Gate.

These eight gates are covered with a 5-tier roof and are called many wicket gates. These eight gates are used by non-royalty and ordinary people to enter and leave. They are opened at 6 o’clock in the morning, just like the electric gates, and only closed at 9 o’clock in the evening.

Guards were placed on each side of the twelve gates, and they checked whether there were any vehicles carrying swords, spears, and beef into the palace.

The inset picture shows the roof of the northern Meit gate, the Sithar gate, being converted to the roof of the colonial governor’s house

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *