During the time of the ancient Burmese kings, the ranks were classified into three main levels based on the titles of the princes and royal families.

Dharma Rajha
The prince with the title of Dharmaraja is the highest in those three levels.

The prince named Thato is the second largest.

Min Ye
The prince who received the title of Minye is the third highest rank.

These three titles were only for princes of the royal race, and the rest of the common race princes were only awarded the title of “Ne Myo”.

Among the titles, according to the number of words included in the given title, the status is divided again.

In the first highest degree of Dhammaraja,
the title of “Shithura Maha Dhamma Raja” is the most advanced title with up to 10 words.
After that, the title of “Shuthiri Mahadharmaraja” has 9 words and is lower than the 10 words princes.
The title of “Mahasri Dhamma Raja” with the title of 8th prince.
After that, the 6th degree prince called “Maha Dharma Raja”.

In the second highest degree of title,
the title of “Thato Min Ye Min Hla San Thu” is the highest title in the Thato title, with 8 words.
Below that
“Thato Min Le Nara”
“Thato Minye Minhla”
“Thotho Minye Thiha”
“Tho Min Hla”

In the third-highest rank of title,
the prince who holds the title of “Min Ye Sri Raja Kyaw” is the most advanced prince.
Below that
“Min Ye Min Hla Raja”
“Min Ye Thiha Kyaw”
“Min Ye Raja”
According to the number of words, the rank of the princes is not the same.

When the princes were young, they had to live with their mothers and queens in the rear of the palace, and when they were about 14 years old, they had to go to the palace built by their father, the king, and live with the princes appointed to govern them. In order to live like this, those princes are called “outside palace” princes.

Princes who have arrived at the palace outside can take the women they like as concubines. In this way, young princes can keep many female concubines, but the official consort only has to keep one.

The princes had to personally command and manage their respective armies when a war broke out in the kingdom. If the country is at peace, they must attend the King and Chief Queen’s ceremonies for three times a year without fail.

To participate in ceremony, in front of the throne of Thihathana in the land palace, they had to sit from left to right.
On the left, the crown prince took his place first, followed by the 9 princes who received the title of Dhama Raja. After that, 9 Prince who received the Thato, After that, 9 princes who graduated from Minye took their place in order.

On the right side, omitting the place of the crown prince, there are 9 princes with Dhama Raja titles. After that, the 9 princes who received as Thato, then the 9 princes with title Minye, etc. took their place.

In this way, the princes on the left have a higher position than the princes on the right, regardless of their rank.

In those ceremonies, only the crown prince sat on velvet mats, and the rest of the princes sat on satin mats.

When the King traveled far and wide from the palace, the princes had to leave the palace before the King left. When returning from a trip, the princes had to enter the palace only after three cannons had been fired.

These are some of the roles and responsibilities of princes in the days of the ancient Burmese rulers.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *